Peace means popcorn

The first place my kids need to find peace is at home.

The first place my kids need to find peace is at home.

Today I learned: I can do more for my children, and for humanity

After shedding tears of disappointment for my country’s representatives not bringing the issue of gun control to vote in what I consider an audacious filibuster, I decided to bring the subject matter in front of the experts I know best.  I know their answers would be pure and honest, not touched by personal agendas, greed, or power.  My hope was to find answers.

In what might very well be this year’s hottest interview, I got down and dirty with all of the controversial issues, and I wasn’t afraid to ask the tough questions.  The results were not surprising, but they extremely heart wrenching and their rawness was… eye opening to say the least.

Simon: Age 5

Me: What is peace?

Simon: I don’t know.

Me: Like “peace and love” in the song you sang for Christmas at school?

Simon: Yeah, peace and love.

Me:  So, You don’t know what peace means?

Simon: No, I don’t know what that is.

Me: How do you get peace: I said I don’t know what that is!

Me: What are your thoughts about guns?

Simon: Bad

Me: What else?

Simon:  Scary

Me: Why?

Simon: They kill people.

Me: What is good about guns?

Simon: I don’t know. Please don’t talk about guns any more.

Anthony: Age 4

Me Where does peace come from?

Anthony: Popcorn

Me: Interesting. Ok.   What do you think about guns?

Anthony:  They will kill someone.

Me: Who?

Anthony: Mommy

Me:  Next interviewee please?

Allie: Age 9

Me: What is peace?

Allie: Freedom

Me: How do we get it?

Allie: By stopping wars.

Me: How do we stop wars?

Allie: By not fighting.

Me: But what if we don’t get along?

Allie: They have to talk.  The people that are fighting need to talk.  And we need to tell them to stop fighting.

Me: What do you think about guns?

Allie: They kill people.

Me: Who?

Allie: Good guys kill bad guys and bad guys kill good guys.

Me: What’s good about guns?

Allie: Nothing.

These experts, sadly knew more about guns in their violent application than they knew about peace.  In fact, peace seemed to be a concept so far off that it was a fairytale word or even a joke. The answer “Popcorn” seemed to get a giggle, yet in reality it was a true indication of their understanding of the word.  Still,  they all became uneasy talking about guns, and I was asked to stop the interview by one expert as he began to fidget uncomfortably.

My blog is not about my political views.  It is, however, about the life lessons I learn from my children. Today I learned I don’t like their answers and I I wasn’t ready to hear them. Today I learned…I will be a stronger voice and a bigger role model. Today I learned I have a lot to learn…and a lot of work to do for them, and for our world, heck even for our own home. In fact, the next time we have this interview,  I want that to be the place they know they can always find peace.  That might even involve popcorn.

And…I will do the work because…well…those little experts are my children and I love them more than anything else in the universe and they deserve it. Period.

Thank you kids, You are so …important to me (and smart too)

—Stupid Mom

One thought on “Peace means popcorn

  1. Tina, you are one of my FAVORITE people on this planet. I am so thankful I met you and we are friends. I love you and your kids and I respect your opinions and you as a person so very much! I wish our world was more “kid” like. I am a big time idealist. My dad always told me so, well into adulthood. I still am in many ways. I hate war and fighting and I wish it weren’t a part of our lives. Sadly it always has been. I sometimes think that if adults had the courage the kids do, the world would be much better off!

Leave a Reply

