IMG_2183

It is an honor to parent such a noble king!

Today I learned: “Good things come in small packages”

Six years ago today was a very special night. I remember it as though it was yesterday. I remember the way the air felt, the walk home from my neighbor’s house, the smell of barbeque, and the way every inch of my body felt. I remember the way my blood ran through my veins. That was the night I knew I would be meeting my son for the very first time, very soon.

I was right too. I felt my womb hugging him all night as he let me know that he was ready for the journey into my arms. And in the morning, together we would fight through probably our greatest and toughest journey together as mother and son.

But its not morning yet…its still night time. And six years ago today I couldn’t sleep, for the same reason I cannot tonight. The anticipation is wild…. tomorrow is May 5. And that is the day my eldest son is born.

But fast-forward 6 years from that night and it brings me to today.

I celebrated my son’s birthday today with his friends; his first big-boy birthday party. As we walked into Chuck E. Cheese’s, the man at the door handed me a sticker name-tag and I slapped it on my shirt. I wore it all day without a second glance. I watched my son as he danced, grinned, and laughed. I fell in love with all over again. He is such a beautiful spirit.

It was not until I got home and we unwrapped gifts and he had scampered off with his brother and sister that I took off my name badge. I smiled as I read the words I had carelessly missed reading earlier; they were located just above my poorly scribbled name:

“Very Important Parent”

Yes. I am. I am a very important parent to this incredible boy. Blessed? No. I don’t feel “blessed”. That sounds like some magical force

Yes, I am a VIP indeed!

Yes, I am a VIP indeed!

or some heavenly god granted me this well-wish and by doing so had forsaken all others that were not worthy. I don’t feel blessed…

I feel…very responsible for a life not my own. Overwhelmingly at times. I feel an immense amount of trust by this young person believing that I make all the right decisions, even when I know that sometimes I don’t. Mostly though, I feel…honored.

This life that I hold in my hands every day is so precious, no gold could match it. It is so valuable that no treasure could surpass it. It’s so beautiful, no sunrise, sunset, or rainbow could even come close. And he is mine, and I am his. Yes, I feel honored to be a “Very important parent” to this child I call my son.

Today Simon taught me about the cliché “good things come in small packages”. Six years ago today I was getting ready for a VERY good thing, that came to me in a VERY small package. And Simon, while you have grown, your goodness and greatness certainly remain just as strong as when you were very small. I am so honored to be a very important parent, to a very important boy.

Thank you Simon – Happy Birthday. (you are so smart)

—Stupid Mom

Leave a Reply

